Cetinje - Montenegro

The Municipality of Cetinje covers an area of 910 km², or 6,6% of the total area of Montenegro (13.812 km²). The area of the town itself is about 5 km².  According to  2011 census, a total of 16.757 inhabitants live within  the boundaries  of the municipality of Cetinje, which amounts to  2.8% of the total population of Montenegro. The town itself hosts a total of 13.991 inhabitants.

Cetinje, the royal capital, is an open gate  attracting everyone with its magical cultural and historical heritage and numerous important cultural events.  Its Historical Core, the  values of which go beyond the national level, represents a historical memory of Montenegro, a starting point and the meeting place of spirituality and national self-awareness.  A cradle of freedom, it was the  throne of spiritual and secular rulers; it was a town of embassies, a town of cultural creativity.

Today, Cetinje is a centre of culture and arts and the ancient royal capital of the restored State of Montenegro.

In 1961, Cetinje Historical Core, due to its value of special urban context with artistic and cultural-historical qualities of individual monuments, acquired the status of a cultural monument of I category. 

The basic monumental value of Cetinje Historical Core consists in a unique harmony of park areas, geometrically regular urban structures and representative public buildings, created in a very short period of time.  The compact urban tissue which has formed independently from the nucleus of the Monastery and the “Biljarda”, has a regular urban appearance. The houses are harmonious and modest, shaped and dimensioned with a sense of measure, respecting the urban matrix, but also good construction practice.

This modest but well defined urban matrix contrasts with the representative public buildings and embassies. Such  edifices, treated also as individually protected monuments of culture, featuring heterogeneous, but contemporary styles and construction techniques brought the European spirit to Cetinje and fitted in the park complexes making up  a combination of unique values.

In accordance with the Law on Cultural Heritage Protection, in the territory of the town of Cetinje there is a total of 30 protected unmovable monuments of culture (including the Mausoleum of Petar II Petrović Njegoš), 25 of which are located within the monumental ensemble of Cetinje Historical Core.

Since 2010 the Ministry of Culture has been moved from Podgorica to Cetinje.

CHERPLAN Pilot Site: Historical core of Cetinje

Pilot Activities: Planning and managing Cetinje's cultural landscape